RNZ's Nine to Noon: Fleishman is in Trouble by Taffy Brodesser-Akner by Time Out Bookstore

Fleishman is in Trouble by Taffy Brodesser-Akner is a book about divorce that doesn’t take itself too seriously.

Toby is handling his divorce fairly well. He’s joined dating apps, is working towards a promotion and is spending quality time with his children on the weekends. However, when his ex Rachel does not turn up to pick up the kids as planned, and just doesn’t...come back, Toby’s new life is turned upside down.

A novel with humour and depth, Brodesser-Akner’s journalistic touch explores gender roles and the expectation of working mothers. For fans of Andrew Sean Greer’s Less and Maria Semple’s Where’d you go, Bernadettte?

95bFM's Loose Reads: The Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead by Time Out Bookstore

This new novel from Colson Whitehead (The Underground Railroad) is Jenna’s favourite book of 2019.*
*so far

The Nickel Boys follows Elwood Curtis, a young, idealistic African American teenager in 1962. Motivated by the words of Martin Luther King, he joins Civil Rights marches and is working hard to get into college.

However, after being in the wrong vehicle at the wrong time, Elwood’s path dramatically changes when he is sent to Nickel Academy, a segregated reform school for boys.

Based on Arthur G Dozier School for Boys in Florida, which only closed down 10 years ago,  

This book is an example of masterful storytelling and is bound to be read for years to come. Listen to Jenna’s review with Rachel and Tess below:

Read more about Arthur G Dozier School & The White House Boys.
Spoiler free review from Roxane Gay’s Book Club.
Great interview with Colson Whitehead on NPR’S Fresh Air.

68530222_575005213031255_6813553062020382720_n.jpg

95bFM's Loose Reads: A Dream About Lightning Bugs by Ben Folds by Time Out Bookstore

A throwback to the 90’s and a new title for our Music Bio section, Ben Folds’ A Dream about Lightning Bugs is a compelling memoir of his piano rock band, Ben Folds Five, as well as his solo career.

While it’s not a sex & drugs tell all, Folds delves into the realities of touring with a baby grand, his often obnoxious behavior and the evolution of the music industry over the 2000’s. A great read for any music fan.

Listen to Jenna, Rachel & Tess’ review and if you’re really keen, give Brick a listen for old times sake.

67743384_695037090921169_9131888069513838592_n (1).jpg

BOOK OF THE MONTH: August, 2019 by Time Out Bookstore

Our Book of the Month for August is The Nickel Boys by Colson Whitehead who won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction and National Book Award for his 2016 novel The Underground Railroad. Based on a real and brutal segregated Florida reform school in the 1950s, the Nickel Academy claims to provide “physical, intellectual and moral training” that will equip its inmates to become “honorable and honest men”. Time Out’s owner Wendy loved this book!

Nickel Boys.jpg

95bFM's Loose Reads: Tatau: A History of Sāmoan Tattooing by Sean Mallon & Sebastien Galliot by Time Out Bookstore

Tatau: A History of Sāmoan Tattooing by Sean Mallon and Sebastien Galliot published by Te Papa Press cleaned up at the PANZ Book Design Awards last week, picking up awards for Best Illustrated Book, Best Typography, Best Book and the People’s Choice Award. Our Kiran was a judge at the awards and spoke about this triumph of a book on 95bFM’s Loose Reads.

Tatau.jpg

BOOK OF THE MONTH: July 2019 by Time Out Bookstore

Our Book of the Month for July is Celestial Bodies by Jokha Alharthi which has won the Man Booker International Prize. It’s a powerful saga about three sisters living in al-Awafi, an Omani village on the brink of change. Exploring themes of slavery, urbanisation, women’s wisdom, patriarchy and masculinity, it’s a beautiful read. Celestial Bodies is also our Lit Reads title for July.
Click here to hear Kiran’s review on 95bFM’s Loose Reads.

Celestial Book of the Month.jpg

95bFM's Loose Reads: Celestial Bodies by Jokha Alharthi by Time Out Bookstore

On 95bFM’s Loose Reads Kiran reviewed our July Book of the Month and Lit Reads title Celestial Bodies by Jokha Alharthi which has won the Man Booker International Prize. It’s a powerful saga about three sisters living in al-Awafi, an Omani village on the brink of change. Exploring themes of slavery, urbanisation, women’s wisdom, patriarchy and masculinity, it’s a beautiful read.

Celestial Bodies.jpg

95bFM's Loose Reads: The Farm by Joanne Ramos by Time Out Bookstore

The Farm is Joanne Ramos’ first book. Jane arrives to the luxury resort Golden Oaks to become a ‘host’ - a surrogate for a wealthy client. Jane sees this well paid gig as a opportunity for her and her young daughter to get a step up in life, but the strict conditions of Golden Oaks, leads her to question a choice she can’t reverse.

Narrated by a cast of characters on all sides, The Farm is an educated insight into ethics, class and privilege & service culture.

65286695_318023245813311_1588973294898380800_n.jpg
thefarm.jpg

95bFM's Loose Reads: Being Various: New Irish Short Stories Edited by Lucy Caldwell by Time Out Bookstore

The short story is enjoying a resurgence and this new anthology which Kiran reviewed on 95bFM’s Loose Reads Being Various: New Irish Short Stories edited by Lucy Caldwell brings together 24 vibrant and fresh pieces by Irish authors including Sally Rooney, Sinead Gleeson, Wendy Erskine, Nicole Flattery, Lisa McInerney and Eimear McBride. The short story is in fine form!

64362394_2697257110346237_5755363263059591168_n.jpg