95bFM's Loose Reads

95bFM's Loose Reads: Kamila Shamsie, Zoya Patel & Sabrina Mahfouz by Time Out Bookstore

Whether you’re reading a reflection of your own community, or stepping inside the stories from another culture, the joy of reading has no boundaries.

On the latest 95bFM Loose Reads, Jenna suggests some wonderful Muslim writers to delve in to.

Home Fire by Kamila Shamsie - see her in May at the Auckland Writers Festival.
No Country Woman by Zoya Patel
The Things I Would Tell You - British Muslim Women Write ed. by Sabrina Mahfouz

95bFM's Loose Reads: You Know You Want This by Kristen Roupenian by Time Out Bookstore

Today we talk short stories and how GREAT they are!

Before today’s review, Jenna gave Tess some homework: To read the viral, December 2017 short story, Cat Person, from The New Yorker.

This collection of twelve stories (including Cat Person) was published off the back of this success. Dark, twisted and humourous (sometimes), You Know You Want This explores the power dynamics of sex, relationships and gender.

If this sounds good to you, you may also like the following short story collections: Things to Do When You’re Goth in the Country & Her Body and Other Parties. You can also buy Cat Person on its own!

95bFM's Loose Reads: Nothing is Real: The Beatles Were Underrated And Other Sweeping Statements About Pop by David Hepworth by Time Out Bookstore

On 95bFM’s Loose Reads Kiran reviewed Nothing is Real: The Beatles Were Underrated and Other Sweeping Statements About Pop by music journalist David Hepworth. Entertaining and informative, this collection of essays shows how to take music seriously but at the same time, not drain the life out of it.

file (4).jpeg

95bFM's Loose Reads: Bad Blood: Secrets & Lies in a Silicon Valley Startup by John Carreyrou by Time Out Bookstore

On today’s Loose Reads, Jenna and Tess chat about one of the latest fraud cases to be in the midst of a media frenzy.

With two upcoming documentaries, a podcast and a movie due, the case of Elizabeth Holmes and her now failed, fraudulant medical company Theranos is being dissected by all angles.

However, Bad Blood is the book that started it all. John Carreyrou’s thorough reporting is transfixing, culminating in a truly compelling tale of corporate crime.

For fans of the Fyre Festival documentaries and the latest scoop on Dan Mallory AKA A.J.Finn, this is an another intriguing tale of millenials gone bad. The new b-format edition is due back in stock very soon, so pre-order now.

95bFM's Loose Reads: The Ockhams’ 2019 Longlist by Time Out Bookstore

It’s an exciting time of year for NZ literature as the Ockhams’ 2019 Longlist has just been announced. Jenna talks to Mikey and Tess about the award categories, some titles to look out for on the longlist and points out what books we’ve reviewed previously on Loose Reads!

They also ponder, how long should you keep reading a book that you’re not enjoying…?

Listen to previous reviews of longlisted titles here:

This Mortal Boy by Fiona Kidman
The Ice Shelf by Anne Kennedy
Poukahangatus by Tayi Tibble
We Can Make a Life by Chessie Henry

95bFM's Loose Reads: Jenna's Top Reads of 2018 by Time Out Bookstore

Jenna popped into the studio for her last review for 2018, so talks over some of her favourites for the year. These are guaranteed great Christmas gifts.

Top fiction: My Year of Rest and Relaxation by Ottesha Moshfegh
Top memoir: We Can Make a Life by Chessie Henry
Top kid’s book: The Bomb / Te Pohū by Sacha Cotter
Top cookbook: Ottolenghi’s Simple

Jenna also mentions the following music books:

Tina Turner’s autobiography, Lily Allen’s My Thoughts Exactly, Roger Daltrey’s Thanks a lot Mr. Kibblewhite & Michael Hutchence’s biography (written by his sister.)

95bFM's Loose Reads: Everything I know about Love by Dolly Alderton by Time Out Bookstore

Jenna has started reading through a few customer favourites for 2018 and this is one of them. Everything I know about Love, is a great read for fans of Caitlin Moran, Lena Dunham, Bridget Jones & Sex and the City.

A smart and honest memoir, that is easy to dip into during this busy time of year. Also, check out Dolly’s podcast, The High Low.

Listen below!

95bFM's Loose Reads: The Only Girl by Robin Green by Time Out Bookstore

Kiran reviewed The Only Girl: My Life and Times on the Masthead of Rolling Stone by Robin Green on 95bFM’s Loose Reads. A juicy, candid memoir from journalist Robin Green who wrote excellent and often damning long-form profiles for iconic magazine Rolling Stone in its 1970s heyday, this is essential reading for lovers of pop and counter culture, West Coast bohemia, political reportage and pacey biographies.

The Only Girl 1.jpg

95bFM's Loose Reads: Messing Up the Paintwork: The Wit and Wisdom of Mark E. Smith by Time Out Bookstore

Kiran nipped into the bFM studio to talk to the wonderful Rach and Tess about Messing Up the Paintwork: The Wit and Wisdom of Mark E. Smith, a book that celebrates the very quotable late Mark E. Smith from iconic group The Fall. A crabby, belligerant codger, Smith was known and loved for his sharp wit, caustic insults and wonderful way with words. You’ll want to read bits of the book out to anyone who’ll listen!

MES.jpg

95bFM's Loose Reads: Maori Made Easy by Scotty Morrison by Time Out Bookstore

Te wiki o te reo Māori! Jenna visited the 95bBM studio to kōrero about Maori Made Easy & Maori Made Easy 2 - Scotty Morrison's reo learning series. If you're thinking about making the step to learning, these books are the place to start!

We also gave away a copy of the brand new Gecko Press book, Paraweta. You'll have to listen to find out what that means. 

Haere mai koutou ki te Time Out toa pukapuka kia tipu ōu reo. Come to Time Out Bookstore to grow your reo. We've got a great selection in stock.