Jenna

95bFM's Loose Reads: Kamila Shamsie, Zoya Patel & Sabrina Mahfouz by Time Out Bookstore

Whether you’re reading a reflection of your own community, or stepping inside the stories from another culture, the joy of reading has no boundaries.

On the latest 95bFM Loose Reads, Jenna suggests some wonderful Muslim writers to delve in to.

Home Fire by Kamila Shamsie - see her in May at the Auckland Writers Festival.
No Country Woman by Zoya Patel
The Things I Would Tell You - British Muslim Women Write ed. by Sabrina Mahfouz

95bFM's Loose Reads: You Know You Want This by Kristen Roupenian by Time Out Bookstore

Today we talk short stories and how GREAT they are!

Before today’s review, Jenna gave Tess some homework: To read the viral, December 2017 short story, Cat Person, from The New Yorker.

This collection of twelve stories (including Cat Person) was published off the back of this success. Dark, twisted and humourous (sometimes), You Know You Want This explores the power dynamics of sex, relationships and gender.

If this sounds good to you, you may also like the following short story collections: Things to Do When You’re Goth in the Country & Her Body and Other Parties. You can also buy Cat Person on its own!

95bFM's Loose Reads: Bad Blood: Secrets & Lies in a Silicon Valley Startup by John Carreyrou by Time Out Bookstore

On today’s Loose Reads, Jenna and Tess chat about one of the latest fraud cases to be in the midst of a media frenzy.

With two upcoming documentaries, a podcast and a movie due, the case of Elizabeth Holmes and her now failed, fraudulant medical company Theranos is being dissected by all angles.

However, Bad Blood is the book that started it all. John Carreyrou’s thorough reporting is transfixing, culminating in a truly compelling tale of corporate crime.

For fans of the Fyre Festival documentaries and the latest scoop on Dan Mallory AKA A.J.Finn, this is an another intriguing tale of millenials gone bad. The new b-format edition is due back in stock very soon, so pre-order now.

95bFM's Loose Reads: The Ockhams’ 2019 Longlist by Time Out Bookstore

It’s an exciting time of year for NZ literature as the Ockhams’ 2019 Longlist has just been announced. Jenna talks to Mikey and Tess about the award categories, some titles to look out for on the longlist and points out what books we’ve reviewed previously on Loose Reads!

They also ponder, how long should you keep reading a book that you’re not enjoying…?

Listen to previous reviews of longlisted titles here:

This Mortal Boy by Fiona Kidman
The Ice Shelf by Anne Kennedy
Poukahangatus by Tayi Tibble
We Can Make a Life by Chessie Henry

RNZ's Nine to Noon: A Different Drummer by William Melvin Kelley by Time Out Bookstore

This image features a little secret from RNZ. As Kathryn is in Wellington, we record our book reviews from a little room at RNZ Auckland.

Sometimes, if another guest is recording a live interview with Kathryn and we don’t have time for a song, we have to creep in quietly beside them and hope we don’t give them a fright or break their flow.

48374448_1969637149800080_2167859020096864256_n.jpg

Jenna crept in yesterday to review A Different Drummer. This is a new lost classic, originally published in 1962, set in 1957, in a fictional Southern USA conferate state.
An incident causes the entire black population to leave the state over a few days. William Melvin Kelley, is himself African American, tells this story from the point of view of the white characters.

With vibrant prose and rich characters, this lost classic couldn’t be more timely. Read the 2018 New Yorker article that sparked this book being republished here.

And listen below for more:

95bFM's Loose Reads: Jenna's Top Reads of 2018 by Time Out Bookstore

Jenna popped into the studio for her last review for 2018, so talks over some of her favourites for the year. These are guaranteed great Christmas gifts.

Top fiction: My Year of Rest and Relaxation by Ottesha Moshfegh
Top memoir: We Can Make a Life by Chessie Henry
Top kid’s book: The Bomb / Te Pohū by Sacha Cotter
Top cookbook: Ottolenghi’s Simple

Jenna also mentions the following music books:

Tina Turner’s autobiography, Lily Allen’s My Thoughts Exactly, Roger Daltrey’s Thanks a lot Mr. Kibblewhite & Michael Hutchence’s biography (written by his sister.)

95bFM's Loose Reads: Everything I know about Love by Dolly Alderton by Time Out Bookstore

Jenna has started reading through a few customer favourites for 2018 and this is one of them. Everything I know about Love, is a great read for fans of Caitlin Moran, Lena Dunham, Bridget Jones & Sex and the City.

A smart and honest memoir, that is easy to dip into during this busy time of year. Also, check out Dolly’s podcast, The High Low.

Listen below!

Nine to Noon: My Year of Rest & Relaxation by Ottessa Moshfegh by Time Out Bookstore

Jenna’s favourite novel of 2018!

It’s the year 2000 in New York, and our unnamed narrator decides to take a year off from life. By carefully mixing a cocktail of prescription medication, she will sleep through the year, emerging a new person, ready to slot back into society.

A laugh out loud, black as black comedy, that is layered, smart and sharp.

95bFM's Loose Reads: Maori Made Easy by Scotty Morrison by Time Out Bookstore

Te wiki o te reo Māori! Jenna visited the 95bBM studio to kōrero about Maori Made Easy & Maori Made Easy 2 - Scotty Morrison's reo learning series. If you're thinking about making the step to learning, these books are the place to start!

We also gave away a copy of the brand new Gecko Press book, Paraweta. You'll have to listen to find out what that means. 

Haere mai koutou ki te Time Out toa pukapuka kia tipu ōu reo. Come to Time Out Bookstore to grow your reo. We've got a great selection in stock.

95bFM's Loose Reads: This Mortal Boy by Fiona Kidman by Time Out Bookstore

Today's 95bFM review is about Dame Fiona Kidman's This Mortal Boy. This is a novel based on the true story of Albert 'Paddy' Black, the second last man to be hanged in New Zealand.

Masterfully crafted, this is a heartbreaking tale. Jenna found it very engaging, very sad and it captures a strong sense of the time. The facts are there, but they are incredibly human.

Listen to the review below! And if you're in Hamilton this week, Kiran will interviewing Dame Fiona Kidman, Catherine Robertson and Julie Thomas for the ‘Fiction Three Ways’ panel discussion this Friday at Hamilton Book Month. It’s at the The Meteor, 6.30pm. It’s FREE and you even get a glass o’ wine. People of Hamilton, roll up!

Nine to Noon: Never Anyone but You by Rupert Thomson by Time Out Bookstore

Never Anyone But You is a straight-up, no nonsense, excellent read. Through the eyes of two inspiring women, we see the glitz of the roaring 20's in Paris to the horrors of the German occupation on Jersey, we are reminded of the value of true love and companionship, whatever form that may take. 

This is one of Wendy's favourite books of the year! Listen to Jenna's review below:

95bFM's Loose Reads: Paul Simon: The Life by Robert Hillburn by Time Out Bookstore

In preparation for Father's Day, Jenna reviewed the ultimate DAD ROCK biography of Paul Simon. This is the only authorised biography of this notoriously difficult musician's life.

Jenna, Sarah & Mikey discuss poor Art Garfunkel, the muppets and Graceland.

Jenna also mentions this excellent documentary about Graceland, Under African Skies. You can watch it here. 

39167114_262783144542241_1085197446671237120_n.jpg

95bFM's Loose Reads: The Pisces by Melissa Broder by Time Out Bookstore

Today, Jenna reviewed The Pisces...a merman erotica by Melissa Broder, author of @sosadtoday.
This book tells the tale (or tail) of Lucy, an anxious student who moves to Venice Beach for the summer to dog sit for her sister.

She soon meets Theo the merman, with a tail that starts below his bum.

A rather bonkers read, which is funny and well written, as well as a poignant observation of despression. Listen below for more!